Life Hacking #1: Stop that right now

It may not be the most logical thing to start another ‘series’ but who cares hey. This has been something brooding on my heart a bit. So here goes!

I found this list of 25 things writers should stop doing right now, which snowballed to me reading this list of 30 things you should stop doing to yourself. And why, you ask, should there be another blog post about the same thing? Well, let’s just say, it was for my own benefit that I wrote/typed it out with my own take on things. So there. And anyways, i missed out on one of two points.

1. Stop spending time with the wrong people:

How true is this. Even with only 21 years of living on this planet, I’m already tired of fake people, of people who don’t add value to my life or don’t value who I am. If people really want and value me in their lives, they’d make room and time for me. Lifelong friends are hard to find, and purely by God’s amazing grace, I’m really glad i’ve found a couple so far.
2. Stop running from your problems
We humans are not made to instantly solve poblems, but to “face problems, learn, adapt, and solve them over the course of time. This is what ultimately molds us into the person we become.” Word.
3. Stop lying to yourself
A reminder to be honest, not just with others, but also with myself.
4. Stop putting your own needs on the back burner
Help others but choose to follow your passion and do something that matters to you. And that’s essentially my 2012. Making the film I wanna make :’)
5. Stop trying to be someone you’re not
There’s always gonna be someone better, younger, stronger….. but they will never be Alene Tan. Fortunately, I think I’m getting better at this year by year.
6. Stop holding onto the past
To quote the magnificent Mr. Walt Disney, “Keep Moving Forward” :’)
7. Stop being afraid of making mistakes
Trying something and getting something wrong is better than doing nothing. That’s something I keep reminding myself this year. Even if I end up making a sucky film, I know I have to do it, I have to get it out of my system. Like what one of the girls in my class said last week, Martin Scorcese had to make Mean Streets (which she said was pretty much all over the place) to be able to start making things like Taxi Driver, and then some. And I just hope that if I do keep wanting to make films, and if by unfortunate circumstance I do make a crappy film this time round (touch wood), that I won’t get demoralized and give up.
8. Stop berating yourself for old mistakes
I can’t say it any better than how the author himself wrote it: “We all make mistakes, have struggles, and even regret things in our past.  But you are not your mistakes, you are not your struggles, and you are here NOW with the power to shape your day and your future. Every single thing that has ever happened in your life is preparing you for a moment that is yet to come.”
9. Stop trying to buy happiness
Not necessarily directly connected to ‘buying happiness’, but I guess, to a certain extent, I am waiting on getting a job I love to be completely happy. But I have learned to recognize that I have my moments these days, when I’m truly content with my life and what I have/am doing at the moment.
10. Stop exclusively looking to others for happiness
I don’t need a boyfriend to be happy, like, I’m happily single right now. But i’m at this point where I think I probably need to start keeping my eyes open.
11. Stop being idle
Worrying / overthinking never helps. Evaluate the situation and take decisive action.
12. Stop thinking you’re not ready
“No one feels 100% ready when an opportunity rises”. Could fool me but I reckon this is true. Take that step out of your comfort zone. It won’t be comfortable at first, but unless we do, we might be missing out on the greatest opportunites in our lives.
13. Stop getting involved in relationship for the wrong reasons
“There’s no need to rush” is probably something Ii’ve been living by as it is. “Fall in love when you’re ready, not when you’re lonely.”
14. Stop rejecting new relationships just because old ones didn’t work
Ultimately, it all boils down to a fear of rejection. I really like this statement: “there is a purpose for everyone you meet”
15. Stop trying to compete against everyone else
Concentrate about being the best YOU can be!
16. Stop being jealous of others
Focus rather on what you have that others don’t
17. Stop complaining and feeling sorry for yourself
Like a golf ball, you may feel like you’re being put in the wrong direction sometimes, but eventually you’ll end up in a better place, as a better person, in a better state of mind or situation.
18. Stop holding grudges
Forgive others and forgive yourself too.
19. Stop letting others bring you down to their level
You are better than that.
20. Stop wasting time explaining myself to others
Just do what you feel in your heart is right.
21. Stop doing the same things over and over without taking a break
Step back and look at the big picture. There’s a renewed strength and a sense of refreshing in a pause.
22. Stop overlooking the beauty of small moments
Enjoy little things in life :)
23. Stop trying to make things perfect
Perfectionist woes. Aim to get things done, not get things perfect.
24. Stop following the path of least resistance
Don’t take the easy way out, do something extraordinary
25. Stop acting like everything is fine
Be free to be human. Don’t be too concerned with what others are thinking. Again, coming back to not being fake. Only when we are open about it can others’ compassion and genuine care bless us.
26. Stop blaming others
Stop denying responsibility. We are responsible for the decisions we make in life.
27. Stop trying to be everything to everyone
Being stretched too thin burns you out. Narrow your focus. Quality > quantity
28. Stop focusing on what you don’t want to happen
Expect good things to happen, and watch out for them
29. Stop being ungrateful
There’s always something to be thankful for. My pastor mentioned today: if you woke up with a roof over your head, have a bed to sleep in, have water flowing from your tap, have a car or a form of convenient transportation, have a job, are studying or have studied at an institution, if you can read this right now….. you are more blessed than majority of the people in the world! And though it’s something we overlook in our daily lives, that’s a fact.
If you made it through this list, good job! Now, forget about this list. I believe we are not made to live bound by lists, laws, rules all the time. So, go and live your life, which can be awesome no matter what situations you may face. Adventure is out there!
Leave a Reply

